Homeschool Memoirs

This weeks assignment: ABOUT YOU.

An Aussie Mum of 2 girls so far and another on the way. Homeschooling must have been in my blood because I considered it since my first childs birth and never really needed convincing that it was the right choice for us.

As an Early childhood teacher, I had seen the spoils of children placed in institutional care since their birth. After 14 years of teaching, I packed it in due to the stress of trying to please parents, not the children – which was an almost impossible task.  After more research, the only choice could be Homeschooling.

Having parents who both excelled in their choice of academic careers at an early age, I could see so much value in teaching children to think for themselves rather than be told what to think about, as my parents had figured out themselves. My father in particular, who had no father from a very young age, hated school, preferring to stay home, would spend countless hours pulling things apart and putting them back together at home, inspired me.

We now live outside of Sydney on a stonefruit farm, doing virtually as we please each day, which is usually learning and discovering whatever takes our interest. Of course it doesn’t always go smoothly but we would never give it all up – its too good. This modern day, transient life-style that so many live is not for us – when is their time for family?

Anyway, that my soapbox piece.

~ by homeschoollearningforlife on August 22, 2008.

2 Responses to “Homeschool Memoirs”

  1. Great to meet you! Wow, all the way in Australia! 😀
    Have a blessed year!
    Sherry

  2. Hi Nerrida 🙂 I enjoyed visiting with you here! Have a lovely week, Q

Leave a Reply

 
